Math Intervention for Dyscalculia: A Practitioner's Map
Updated: Sep 10

You have a student who reads well enough now. The decoding work paid off. But she still counts on her fingers to add nine and six, she cannot tell you whether three-fifths is bigger than one-half, and she freezes at a word problem the moment there are two steps in it.
So you go looking for the math equivalent of what you used on her reading. And the shelf is a completely different shape.
There is no dyscalculia equivalent of the structured literacy ecosystem. No accrediting body reviews math intervention curricula. No certifying organisation for math interventionists sits independently of the organisations that sell the training.
No state publishes an approved list of math programs the way a handful publish dyslexia guidance. And the strongest evidence document in the field — the one that carries four Strong ratings — does not contain the word "dyscalculia" anywhere in it.
That is not a reason to do nothing. It is a reason to shop differently. This piece maps what math intervention programs actually are, what their publishers do and do not put in writing, what the evidence attaches to, and what the training landscape looks like when you look at who issues the credential and who takes the money.
Nothing here is legal advice, and nothing here tells you which program to use with a particular student. Both of those are out of scope on purpose, and the last two sections explain why.
The short version
Six findings, before the detail.
"Dyscalculia" is not a diagnostic category in the DSM-5. The diagnosis is specific learning disorder with impairment in mathematics. Dyscalculia is an alternative term, not a code.
"Math intervention program" names at least four different kinds of object — a full core-replacement curriculum, a set of modular supplements, a method with materials, and a professional development model with no curriculum at all. A head-to-head table across them is a category error.
Most math publishers do not publish dosage. Reading publishers mostly do. That difference matters more to a once-weekly private practice than any feature list.
"Multisensory" is the field's dominant marketing adjective and it does not appear in the strongest evidence document in the area. What that document does support, at Strong, is concrete and semi-concrete representations.
Every organisation that certifies a math interventionist also sells the training. The reading field has at least one body that deliberately separated those two functions and said why.
The evidence in math attaches to instructional characteristics, not to brands — which is the same finding the reading literature produced, arrived at by a different route.
Start with the word, because the word is doing damage
Families arrive saying dyscalculia. Schools write "math disability." Neither is the phrase in the diagnostic manual.
The DSM-5's third specifier under specific learning disorder is "with impairment in mathematics." The American Psychiatric Association's own explainer describes that specifier as covering individuals who show "significantly below average skills in number sense, memorization of arithmetic facts, accurate or fluent calculation, and/or accurate math reasoning."
The same page presents dyscalculia as the descriptive term for difficulty "with learning number number-related concepts, with processing numerical information, with learning arithmetic facts or with using the symbols and functions to perform accurate or fluent math calculations."
So the word is real, widely used, and not a category you will find on a claim form.
This matters for three practical reasons.
First, your scope. AET's Fact Sheet, also published as a PDF, lists four things educational therapists do not do, and the first is "diagnose." The second is "administer cognitive, intelligence, or psychological tests (unless otherwise qualified to do so)" — and that parenthetical is part of the sentence, so quote it whole. Whatever a parent has been told, you are not the person establishing whether this child has dyscalculia.
Second, your language in writing. If the referral says dyscalculia and the psychoeducational report says specific learning disorder with impairment in mathematics, those are the same finding in two vocabularies. Say so in your notes rather than letting the mismatch sit there unexplained.
Third, your search terms. Program marketing uses "dyscalculia" freely. Research and government sources mostly do not. If you search only the first vocabulary you will find only vendors.
On prevalence, and why to be careful with the number
The figure you will see quoted everywhere is 3 to 6 per cent. It traces to Shalev, Auerbach, Manor and Gross-Tsur (2000), European Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, 9 Suppl 2, II58–64, which states that "the prevalence of developmental dyscalculia (DC) in the school population ranges from 3-6 %."
That paper is twenty-six years old and its cohort work was Israeli. The range is defensible as a range. Do not present it as a current US figure, and do not narrow it to a single number. If a family or a school needs a prevalence claim to be load-bearing, send them to a current source rather than to this one.
The programs on your shelf and the evidence in the literature are answering two different questions. The programs answer "what will I teach on Tuesday." The evidence answers "what features make instruction work." Neither answers the other.
Four kinds of object wearing one label
This is the part that wastes the most practitioner time. You compare two "math intervention programs" and discover halfway through that one is a two-year curriculum and the other is a training course. Here is the sorting.
Core-replacement curricula
These are complete sequences intended to substitute for, not supplement, the student's math instruction.
Connecting Math Concepts (McGraw Hill, Direct Instruction) is described on the publisher's page as connecting "facts, procedures, conceptual understanding, applications, and problem-solving skills to provide comprehensive curriculum for Tier 1 and Tier 3 at-risk students." Six levels, A through F, kindergarten through grade five. It is scripted, teacher-directed, and daily by design.
Number Worlds (McGraw Hill, Sharon Griffin) is published as "a PreK-8 math prevention and intervention program with decades of proven results," with a placement test that "determines their exact level" and lesson options at 60, 45 or 30 minutes in a four-part structure. It is the one program in this group that publishes a session-length choice.
TransMath (Voyager Sopris) is "a comprehensive math intervention curriculum that targets middle and high school students who lack the foundational skills necessary for entry into algebra," grades 5 through 10, in three levels. Its page title calls it "Targeted, Multisensory Math Intervention." Hold that word; we come back to it.
The same publisher's Vmath sits one band lower, at grades 2 to 8. Connecting Math Concepts and Corrective Mathematics both sit inside McGraw Hill's Direct Instruction math line, and NIFDI publishes independent implementation material for Connecting Math Concepts that is more specific than the catalogue is.
Modular supplemental sets
These are designed to be dropped into an existing program to fix a specific gap.
Do The Math (Heinemann, Marilyn Burns and colleagues) is the clearest case, and the only program in this whole survey that publishes dosage plainly: each module is "30 half-hour lessons," across four content strands — addition and subtraction, multiplication, division and fractions — for grades 1 to 5, with a separate middle school version.
Corrective Mathematics (McGraw Hill, Direct Instruction) is "organized into seven strategic modules that provide teacher-directed, explicit instruction on critical math skills and concepts students struggle to grasp," for grades 3 to 13: addition, subtraction, multiplication, division, basic fractions, fractions/decimals/percents, and ratios and equations. A free placement test is published by NIFDI. The publisher's page states no session length and no group size.
Methods with materials
These are instructional approaches with a proprietary representation at their centre.
TouchMath describes itself as "an explicit, multisensory math program for students who struggle with key foundational math skills and abstract concepts from preschool through transition," built on using "the numeral itself as a manipulative" via TouchPoints. It states no dosage and no required training.
On Cloud Nine (Gander Publishing, Nanci Bell and Kim Tuley) "develops the ability to image and verbalize the concepts and processes of math," moving from numeral imagery to decimals and fractions. It is the math sibling of Visualizing and Verbalizing, and like that program it is an imagery method rather than a scope and sequence. Lindamood-Bell publishes its own delivery of it.
Making Math Real describes its content as "comprehensive and scientifically based systematic simultaneous multisensory structured methods in mathematics," delivered through a course sequence rather than a boxed curriculum. More on that in the training section, because it belongs there as much as here.
Professional development models with no curriculum at all
This is the category most often mistaken for a program.
Math Recovery is not a curriculum. It is described by its own organisation as "professional development transforming educators into highly skilled math specialists who pinpoint children's knowledge levels and accelerate their learning." There is no box to buy. What you buy is training in an assessment framework and a set of learning progressions, and then you build instruction from what the assessment tells you.
Note the name change. The US Math Recovery Council now operates as Integrow Numeracy Solutions; `mathrecovery.org` redirects to `integrowmath.org`, and the site carries a "New Name, Same Mission" line. If you have older references, they point at a domain that no longer serves the content.
Add+Vantage (formerly branded Add+VantageMR) is the entry tier of the same organisation: "professional development providing educators with practical tools to apply research-based learning progressions when planning lessons and analyzing student thinking," in four 24-hour courses.
The dosage gap, and why it is the finding that should change your shopping
If you read the reading program comparison on this site, you will remember that the striking thing there was how much dosage publishers put in writing. Wilson specifies a minimum of two complete lessons a week. Take Flight specifies 230 days of direct instruction at 45 minutes across five days. Corrective Reading specifies 35 to 45 minutes daily.
Math publishers, with one clear exception, do not do this.
Across the eight commercial programs above, exactly one publishes a lesson count and a lesson length together: Do The Math, at 30 half-hour lessons per module. Number Worlds publishes a menu of session lengths. Everyone else publishes levels, strands, grade bands and features, and leaves frequency, duration and group size to the buyer.
That is a real asymmetry and it has a practical consequence. You cannot check a math program against your actual weekly hour the way you can check a reading program, because the number you would check against is mostly not published. You will have to infer it from the research the publisher cites, which is a different and weaker thing.
Where a genuine dosage figure does exist, it usually comes from the research rather than the catalogue. NCII's intervention taxonomy brief for Number Rockets, a first-grade tutoring intervention, states it plainly: "Tutors deliver the program to small groups of two to four students three times per week in 40-minute sessions, with 30 minutes of mathematics instruction and activities followed by 10 minutes of practice."
Three times a week. That is the shape of the intervention that produced the finding. It is not the shape of most private-practice caseloads, and the honest thing to do with that gap is name it in your intervention plan rather than quietly ignore it.
"Multisensory" is the field's favourite adjective. It is not the evidence's.
Look at the language again. TouchMath: "explicit, multisensory math program." TransMath: "Targeted, Multisensory Math Intervention." Making Math Real: "systematic simultaneous multisensory structured methods in mathematics." ASDEC runs a training line called, simply, Multisensory Math.
Now open the strongest evidence document in the area.
Assisting Students Struggling with Mathematics: Intervention in the Elementary Grades (WWC 2021006, March 2021; Jayanthi, Gersten, Newman-Gonchar, Schumacher, Haymond, Lyskawa, Keating and Morgan) is the IES practice guide for exactly this population — students in grades K to 6 who struggle with mathematics, "with or at risk for mathematics disabilities."
The word "multisensory" does not appear in it. Neither does "dyscalculia." Neither does "concrete-representational-abstract" or "CRA."
That is a finding about vocabulary, not about efficacy, and the distinction is the whole point. The guide is not silent on the practice. Its third recommendation, rated Strong, is:
"Representations: Use a well-chosen set of concrete and semi-concrete representations to support students' learning of mathematical concepts and procedures."
And it defines both terms. Concrete representations are "three-dimensional (3D), physical materials or actions that students can organize, act upon, or manipulate to better understand mathematics content." Semi-concrete representations are "two-dimensional (2D) visual depictions such as strip diagrams, simple drawings, tables, arrays, graphs, and number lines."
So the practice that "multisensory math" mostly operationalises has strong support. The label itself is not an evidence claim, because no evidence body uses it. When a publisher tells you a program is multisensory, it has told you something about its design philosophy and nothing about its evidence base, and those are two separate questions you should ask separately.
This is the same move the Orton-Gillingham label makes in reading, arriving from the other direction. There, a label with real lineage is used by publishers no organisation adjudicates. Here, a label with real practices behind it is used by publishers while the evidence documents describe those practices in different words entirely.
What "evidence-based" means in mathematics, and it means at least four things
If you have read the reading comparison you know this problem already. It is worse in math, because the frameworks disagree about whether they are rating practices or products.
The US Department of Education publishes its own guide to this mess — Selecting Evidence-Based Practices for Tiers 1, 2, and 3: Navigating Clearinghouses and Databases — which is itself a fair signal of how confusing the landscape is.
When four bodies use the word "evidence-based" and none of them is rating the same object, a badge on a box tells you which clearinghouse the publisher submitted to. It does not tell you the program will work for the student in front of you.
IES practice guides rate practices
The 2021 guide's six recommendations, with the levels of evidence printed beside them in the guide itself:
Systematic Instruction — Strong. "Provide systematic instruction during intervention to develop student understanding of mathematical ideas." The guide states this rating rests "on 43 studies of the effectiveness of systematic intervention design features and systematic instruction."
Mathematical Language — Strong. Teach clear and concise mathematical language and support students' use of it.
Representations — Strong. As quoted above.
Number Lines — Strong. "Use the number line to facilitate the learning of mathematical concepts and procedures, build understanding of grade-level material, and prepare students for advanced mathematics."
Word Problems — Moderate. "Provide deliberate instruction on word problems to deepen students' mathematical understanding and support their capacity to apply mathematical ideas."
Timed Activities — Moderate. "Regularly include timed activities as one way to build fluency in mathematics."
Not one of those names a program. The guide carries the standard IES disclaimer: "Any references within the document to specific education products are illustrative and do not imply endorsement of these products to the exclusion of other products that are not referenced."
The guide it updates, Assisting Students Struggling with Mathematics: Response to Intervention (RtI) for Elementary and Middle Schools (April 2009), had eight recommendations across a wider scope and a much more mixed evidence picture — explicit and systematic instruction at Strong, word problem instruction at Strong, screening at Moderate, visual representations at Moderate, fluent fact retrieval at Moderate, and three recommendations at Minimal, including progress monitoring.
A wrinkle worth knowing about. As of 9 September 2026, the WWC's own math practice guides hub page lists six guides — and the 2009 RtI guide is on it while the March 2021 guide that updates it is not. If you send a colleague to that page expecting the current guide, they will not find it. Go to the practice guide page directly.
Two more IES guides sit squarely on educational therapy caseloads. Developing Effective Fractions Instruction for Kindergarten Through 8th Grade (NCEE 2010-4039, September 2010) carries five recommendations, and WWC published a shorter instructional tips digest of it in 2021 alongside the guide's review protocol.
Improving Mathematical Problem Solving in Grades 4 Through 8 (NCEE 2012-4055, May 2012, revised October 2018) carries five recommendations. Two are rated Strong — "assist students in monitoring and reflecting on the problem-solving process" and "teach students how to use visual representations." Two are Moderate, and "prepare problems and use them in whole-class instruction" is Minimal.
The full set of IES guides across every subject sits on the practice guides index, and the 2021 math guide has an ERIC record if you need a stable citation.
WWC intervention reports rate products, and there are very few in math
The WWC's intervention reports use a different vocabulary entirely — positive, potentially positive, no discernible, mixed, potentially negative and negative effects, each with an extent of evidence.
Searching the WWC's math products as of 9 September 2026, no intervention report was found for TouchMath, Number Worlds, TransMath, Corrective Mathematics, Do The Math, On Cloud Nine, Making Math Real or Math Recovery. Bound that carefully: it means those reports were not located, not that the programs are ineffective and not that the searches were exhaustive.
NCII rates studies, and says so
NCII's Academic Intervention Tools Chart covers mathematics as well as literacy, and it is the most widely misread source in this area. Its own words: "The presence of a particular program on the chart does not constitute endorsement and should not be viewed as a recommendation from either the TRC on Academic Intervention or NCII."
The chart rates individual studies of programs. It does not rate the programs.
ESSA rates study designs
A fourth framework again. The ESSA tiers as applied by the WWC turn on study design and scale: Tier 1 requires studies meeting WWC standards without reservations, Tier 2 allows studies meeting standards with or without reservations, and both require statistically significant positive effects, at least 350 students and at least two educational sites.
Evidence for ESSA, which is where most "ESSA Tier" badges on math products actually come from, applies its own standards and procedures, and some state agencies publish their own reading of the tiers — Connecticut's ESSA Evidence-Based Guide for Mathematics is one.
A program badged "ESSA Tier 2" and a practice rated "Strong" in an IES guide are making claims that are not on the same axis and cannot be traded against each other.
And the meta-analyses point at features, not brands
Gersten, Chard, Jayanthi, Baker, Morphy and Flojo (2009), Review of Educational Research 79(3), 1202–1242, synthesised "42 interventions (randomized control trials and quasi-experimental studies) on instructional approaches that enhance the mathematics proficiency of students with learning disabilities."
They reported that "all instructional components except for student feedback with goal-setting and peer-assisted learning within a class resulted in significant mean effects ranging from 0.21 to 1.56," with heuristics and explicit instruction producing the largest effects. That paper is a direct ancestor of the IES guides, and it is about components rather than products.
The current large synthesis is Rojo and colleagues (2024), Educational Psychology Review 36(1), article 9, which "reviewed 223 reports comprising 286 studies, encompassing data from approximately 56,477 participants" and analysed grade level, group size, content area and dosage as moderators. Note what is being moderated: characteristics of the intervention, not the identity of the product. The authors report significant variability by content area, with fraction interventions showing a pronounced impact.
One gap worth stating in print. As of 9 September 2026 I could not locate a peer-reviewed meta-analysis of intervention for developmental dyscalculia specifically, as a category, comparable to what exists for Orton-Gillingham in reading.
The nearest candidate is a preprint on Research Square, which has not completed peer review and should not be cited as though it had. If someone shows you a confident category-level effect size for dyscalculia intervention, ask where it came from.
The training landscape, and the conflict of interest nobody removed
Here is where math differs from reading most sharply, and where practitioners get caught.
In reading, there is a body that credentials individuals and deliberately does not train them. The Orton-Gillingham Academy states its reasoning openly on its training information page:
"Because the training is done by Fellows, the Academy does not train; it only certifies and accredits, eliminating the conflict of interest that arises when training and certification are handled by the same organization."
The Academy separately accredits training programs, IMSLEC accredits courses, and IDA accredits educator preparation programs. Three independent lists, in reading, none of them run by a publisher.
In mathematics, no organisation has made that separation. Every route below is run by the same entity that issues the recognition at the end of it.
Making Math Real
A course sequence, not a curriculum. Eleven core courses beginning with a mandatory prerequisite, Making Math Real: Overview K-12, then a sequence through the 9 Lines Intensive, the four operations and 400 math facts, fractions and advanced place value, pre-algebra, Algebra I and II, geometry in two parts, and separate courses on time and money. The institute's own page describes the series as "up to 700 hours of content courses."
Seven hundred hours is a serious commitment — comparable in scale to the top of the reading ladders. What the page does not state is what credential completing it confers, or what an outside body would recognise.
Math Recovery, now Integrow
The most structured route, and the only one with a named specialist credential.
Math Recovery Part 1 (K-2) runs "typically 9-12 months," with up to two years allowed, and requires "50-80 hours working one-on-one with students" plus "20-50 hours providing instruction for small groups," alongside team meetings and "one-on-one support from an expert Math Recovery facilitator." Part 2 (K-5) requires Part 1 first, runs "typically 6-9 months," and requires "50 teaching hours." The endpoint is Math Recovery Specialist certification.
Those are real practicum hours with real supervision, and the structure will look familiar to anyone who has been through a reading practicum. The organisation that sets the standard is also the organisation that sells the course.
ASDEC Multisensory Math
The Atlantic Seaboard Dyslexia Education Center runs Multisensory Math 1 and 2, sequenced, delivered as pre-recorded lectures with live online meetings. Its own page makes a specific claim worth quoting exactly: "ASDEC is the only IMSLEC-accredited and IDA-endorsed training center that offers training and certification pathways in Multisensory Math."
Read that sentence carefully, because it is precisely worded and it is easy to over-read.
IMSLEC's Standards of Accreditation state that the council "accredits Multisensory Structured Language Education (MSLE) training courses." The words "mathematics" and "math" do not appear on that page. Nor do they appear anywhere in IMSLEC's accredited course directory, which listed 67 accredited organisations as of 9 September 2026 — and which lists ASDEC at the Teaching and Instructor of Teaching level and the Therapy and Instructor of Therapy level, both language levels.
So ASDEC's statement is accurate as written: it is an IMSLEC-accredited center, and it offers math training. What is not established is that the math training is itself IMSLEC-accredited, because IMSLEC's published standards describe language courses. That is a distinction the sentence preserves and a reader in a hurry will lose.
And then there is the online certificate
Search "dyscalculia certification" and among the first results is a Dyscalculia Specialist (K-12) Certification offered by EduCalcLearning on a course-hosting platform, organised in nine sections covering dyscalculia across grade levels, multiple challenges, and IEP language.
The page states no total hours, no assessment requirement, no practicum, no entry requirement, and no claim of accreditation or recognition by any external body. That is not an accusation; it is a description of what the page publishes. It is included here because it is what the search returns, and a practitioner deciding where to spend training money deserves to know how thin the published detail is before spending it.
What binds you regardless
None of AET, ALTA, AOGPE or CERI credentials anyone in mathematics. That does not leave you unbound.
AET's Code of Ethics (Revision #9, 2025) applies to math work exactly as it applies to reading work. I.II.A requires members to "provide only those professional services for which they have been adequately trained." II.I.C requires that you "use only those assessment instruments for which they have been adequately trained."
II.I.E requires you to "select and use appropriate instructional methods, curricula, materials, and other resources." And II.II.J requires you to "facilitate referral to other appropriate professionals for services as needed."
Read together, those four clauses say something uncomfortable and correct: the absence of a credentialing body in math does not lower the competence bar, it just removes the external check on it. You are the check.
If your credential ladder is a reading ladder — and for most educational therapists and learning specialists it is — then taking on a math caseload is a scope decision you should be able to defend in writing.
That is a scope question before it is a shopping question, and the differences between the three practitioner roles are where it starts: what each is trained in, and what each can accurately claim.
What the states publish, and what they carefully do not
Two data points, both recent, and neither of them a fifty-state finding.
New Jersey. On 20 August 2025 the New Jersey Department of Education issued a broadcast from Assistant Commissioner Kathy Ehling announcing a new set of Dyscalculia One-Page Resource Guides — five guides covering an overview, screeners, family approaches and instructional strategies by grade band. The memo describes dyscalculia as "a specific learning disability in math." It names no commercial intervention program.
Virginia. The Virginia Department of Education's Learning Disabilities in Mathematics page defines the difficulty as "the inability to understand and remember mathematics concepts, rules, formulas, basic computation skills, and sequence of operations," and points readers to concrete-representational-abstract instruction, schema-based instruction for problem solving, explicit instruction and Universal Design for Learning. It links IRIS, NCII and Youcubed. It names no commercial intervention program either.
That is the pattern, bounded to these two agencies as of 9 September 2026: state guidance in mathematics describes practices and declines to name products. It is not evidence about any other state, and it is not a statement about what any law requires.
If a question in front of you turns on what your state's regulations oblige a school or a private practitioner to do, that question belongs with your state education agency, and if it concerns your own practice, with an attorney.
A decision sequence, not a decision
I am not going to tell you which program to use for a described student. That is the line between reporting and clinical direction, and this article stays on the reporting side of it. What follows is the order in which to ask, which is the part that is genuinely transferable.
1. Name the construct, not the label. "Dyscalculia" tells you almost nothing about what to teach on Tuesday. Number sense, fact retrieval, place value, fractions and rational number, and multi-step word problems are different targets with different instructional literatures. The 2024 Rojo synthesis found content area to be a meaningful moderator; fractions behave differently from the rest.
2. Establish baseline before you choose. AET's Code requires baseline data on new clients and progress measurement "at regular intervals." Choosing a program before you have baseline is choosing before you know the target. If you need the structure for that, the treatment plan guide on this site walks through baseline, goal formulas and written decision rules, and the first session guide covers where the screening fits in the hour.
3. Decide what grain of object you actually need. A gap in one strand does not need a core-replacement curriculum. A student two or three years behind across the board is not going to be reached by a supplement. Deciding this before you look at products removes about half the shortlist immediately.
4. Check the dosage you can actually deliver against the dosage behind the evidence. For most math programs the publisher will not have given you a number, so use the research parameters instead — and where the gap is large, say so in the plan.
Number Rockets was three sessions a week. If you have one, you are not running Number Rockets; you are running something informed by it, and the plan should say that.
5. Check what you are qualified to deliver, and be strict about it. Some routes gate on training. Most math programs do not gate at all, which means the constraint is II.I.C and I.II.A rather than the publisher's order form. Purchasability is not competence — that distinction runs through the assessment instrument comparison on this site as well, where publishers' qualification levels turn out not to mean the same thing across publishers.
6. Monitor, and write the decision rule before you need it. Decide in advance how many data points and how many weeks will trigger a change, and put it in the plan. Otherwise the decision gets made by whoever is most tired that month.
For the monitoring itself, NCII maintains an academic progress monitoring chart and an academic screening chart that both cover mathematics, and IRIS publishes a free module on progress monitoring in mathematics covering computation and concepts-and-applications probes. Read the charts the same way you read the intervention chart: they rate studies, not products.
Can any of this identify a math disability? No. Flatly no. Screening informs instruction; identification is a diagnostic act and AET's Fact Sheet puts it outside your scope. Where interpretation of assessment data is needed, II.I.D directs you to "seek interpretation of assessment data from professionals in related fields (e.g. medical, psychological, speech/language, neuropsychological)."
The same thin record shows up in writing, with one extra complication: there the field's central word is not missing but doubled. Dysgraphia and Writing Intervention Tools sets out why two authoritative bodies define dysgraphia as two different disorders, and what each writing publisher does and does not put in writing.
Where the published record runs out
Every article on this site ends here, and this one has more gaps than most.
Dosage is unpublished for most math programs. TouchMath, Corrective Mathematics, Connecting Math Concepts, TransMath, On Cloud Nine and Making Math Real state no session length, weekly frequency or group size on the pages cited here. Any such figure you see in circulation is a study parameter or a district's local decision, not a publisher specification.
Making Math Real states no credential. Seven hundred hours of content courses, and no statement on the course-descriptions page of what completing them confers.
ASDEC's total hours and practicum requirements are not stated on the page cited, and the exact scope of its IMSLEC accreditation with respect to mathematics is not something IMSLEC's own published standards address.
EduCalcLearning publishes no hours, assessment, practicum, entry requirement or external accreditation for its dyscalculia certification.
No peer-reviewed category-level meta-analysis of dyscalculia intervention was located as of 9 September 2026.
No WWC intervention report was found for any of the eight commercial programs surveyed here. That is an absence in a search, not a verdict on a program.
Prevalence rests on a 2000 paper. The 3 to 6 per cent range is quotable with its source and its age attached, and not otherwise.
State guidance was checked for two states. New Jersey and Virginia. Nothing here generalises past them.
Math assessment instruments are deliberately out of scope here. Comparing KeyMath-3, the Feifer Assessment of Mathematics, the math subtests of the comprehensive achievement batteries and the curriculum-based measures is a separate piece, and doing it properly means going publisher by publisher on qualification levels the way the EF instrument comparison did.
When a source is real but unreadable, or silent, the right move is to say so and tell you how to check it yourself — not to fill the gap with a confident sentence. Every claim above is attributed to the body that published it, and where a body publishes nothing, that is stated as the finding.
Frequently asked questions
Is dyscalculia a formal diagnosis?
Not as such. The DSM-5 diagnosis is specific learning disorder with impairment in mathematics. Dyscalculia is the descriptive term used alongside it, including by the American Psychiatric Association's own patient-facing material. In practice you will see both, often in the same file, and it is worth saying explicitly in your notes that they refer to the same finding.
Is there an Orton-Gillingham equivalent for math?
No organisation occupies that position. The closest structural analogues are Math Recovery, now Integrow, which has a named specialist credential with substantial supervised practicum hours, and Making Math Real, which has a long course sequence. Neither is accredited by an outside body in the way reading training programs can be, and both certify people they have themselves trained.
Does IMSLEC or IDA accredit math training?
IMSLEC's published Standards of Accreditation describe Multisensory Structured Language Education training courses, and as of 9 September 2026 the words "mathematics" and "math" appear neither on that page nor in its accredited course directory. ASDEC accurately describes itself as an IMSLEC-accredited and IDA-endorsed center that offers Multisensory Math training; that is a statement about the center's status, not a statement that the math courses carry the accreditation.
Is "multisensory math" evidence-based?
The label is not a claim any evidence body makes, because no evidence body uses it. The March 2021 IES practice guide does not contain the word.
What it does rate as Strong is the use of a well-chosen set of concrete and semi-concrete representations, which is most of what multisensory math programs do. So ask two questions rather than one: what practices does this program actually use, and what evidence attaches to those practices.
Which math program should I buy?
That depends on the construct you are targeting, the grain of object you need, the dosage you can deliver and what you are trained to deliver — in that order. Anyone who answers the question without those four inputs is selling something. Work the sequence in the section above and the shortlist usually collapses to two or three.
Can I use math screening data to identify dyscalculia?
No. Screening and progress-monitoring data tell you where to teach and whether the teaching is working. Identification is diagnostic and sits outside the educational therapist's scope under AET's Fact Sheet. Where interpretation of assessment data is required, the Code directs you to seek it from professionals in related fields.
The honest summary
Reading intervention has an ecosystem: accrediting bodies, certifying bodies, state handbooks, publisher training gates, and a research literature large enough to argue about. Mathematics has publishers, a small number of training organisations that certify their own graduates, four incompatible evidence frameworks, and a handful of excellent government documents that name no products at all.
That sounds like bad news. It is mostly a relief. It means the work of choosing sits with your judgement and your data rather than with a badge, and it means the six practices in the 2021 practice guide — systematic instruction, mathematical language, representations, number lines, word problems and timed activities — are a better place to start than any catalogue.
Match those to a construct, a baseline and a dosage you can actually deliver, and write down how you will know whether it worked. That is the whole method, and no program does it for you.
Building a practice that takes on math referrals as seriously as reading ones? Illuminate maintains a network of educational therapists, learning specialists and executive function coaches, and the resources here are written for that audience rather than for the families they serve. Join the educator list to get new practitioner guides as they publish.





Comments